Cash Interest for 2021 vs 2020

I started writing this blog post and was trying to find my previous blog on this topic and realised that I had completely missed this last year.

Interest rates came down especially for savings accounts and even high interest savings accounts were not spared.

In 2021, I made a total of $4,662.15 from an accumulation of various banks/insurers. This is a drop of about $1,000 from the $5,684.55 in 2020. I had forecasted this in early 2020 and had offset this with the additional purchase of certain reits which increased my dividends by the same. At the same time I entered into the Aviva Mysecure III policy with $50,000 which pays 5.5% over 3 years.

Going forward I intend to cash out from the Singlife and Dash accounts and put more of the money into some reits and stocks. In the event of a major market correction, the plan would be to cash out the $75,000 from the UOB account .

2022 should see interest rates going back up. Hopefully will see some better instruments for better interest accumulation.

Leave a comment